Breaking News
recent

Fujifilm GFX 50R: An overpriced toy with horrible ergonomics

OMG, the new Fujifilm GFX 50R is a fail of epic proportions. What was Fuji thinking? I just watched the preview video by DP Review, and they said the same thing, but of course it in a much nicer and subtler way. Just like me they were wondering who this camera was meant for, and aside from degrading their medium format system by dropping the price, what is the point of this camera? I'm starting to think that Fujifilm is becoming desperate like Sony: They're pushing out a lot of half-baked cameras lately, they are having aggressive promotions and price drops (because the cameras don't sell?), and they're becoming very arrogant in marketing (just like Sony). Let us watch the video, and after that I will list all the fails of this camera.



Fuji GFX 50R fail list

- It has the same sensor and same performance of the GFX 50S, the camera that was launched 2 years ago. 2 years and they were not able to buy a better sensor - what a fail!
- Fuji basically recycled the internals into a smaller boxy body and dropped the price (from 6500 USD to 4000 USD).
- The majority of the lenses still cost 2000 USD upwards, so entering the GFX system will still cost you 6000 USD at least.
- It shoots only 3 FPS (LOL).
- The video is terrible. It shoots 1080P/24fps, the video is soft and it has a terrible rolling shutter. Why did Fuji even care to put video in?
- The ergonomics are horrible. There's virtually no grip.
- They removed the top ISO dial, no top LCD, the camera's usability is really handicapped on purpose by Fuji (just for the looks?).
- Sensor is old. Modern FF cameras like the Nikon D810 or the Nikon Z7 have a similar image quality and are cheaper to enter as systems.
- The camera is straight out ugly: Huge boxy design with the huge lenses, it looks like a monster.
- GFX RAW files are huge: 121 MB per uncompressed 14-bit image!

As I said in one of my previous posts, I don't consider Fuji a serious camera company. They're selling retro-looking overpriced cameras that have quality and durability issues (search Youtube), and they're overpriced for what you get: Either a buggy crop-sensor system (X) or a slow and expensive medium format system (GFX). But sure, the cameras look cute, and the JPEG filters are lovely for Instagram. If that's worth so much money to some people, I really don't know, but then we live in a world of millenials.

DP Review showed that a 4 years old Nikon D810 has as good image quality as the GFX today.

Let's be real

The advantage of 50 Mpxl medium format vs. 45-50 Mpxl full frame is very little. It still has an edge in product photography, but in everything else it is worse: In video, wildlife and action photography, street photography. In landscapes and portraits its virtually the same, so there's absolutely no point to buy a GFX, that is trying to mimic mirrorless FF cameras, because Fuji thinks they can compete in that market. They cannot.

The 45.7 Mpxl Nikon Z7 costs only 3400 USD and destroys the Fuji GFX 50R 99% of the time!
Hyder Crew

Hyder Crew

No comments:

Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.